General facts

Croatia is probably one of the smallest countries in Europe, where at only 56 500 km² land and 32 000 km² sea, you can find anything you are searching for.

With 1224 islands and islets, 11 natural parks, 8 national parks, kilometre long beaches and bays, unique landscapes, thousands of caves and numerous fascinating cultural attractions, Croatia is a land where every stone is telling its own history.

You can reach Croatia by car, plain, train, bus or ship.

Croatia is divided into 11 regions: South Dalmatia with Dubrovnik, Middle Dalmatia with Split and Sibenik, North Dalmatia with Zadar, Lika-Karlovac, Kvarner, Istria, Central Croatia, city of Zagreb and Slavonia. On the following pages you can read a little bit more about each region and our offers there.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for any question, comment and suggestion you may have.

Facts about Croatia:

  • 4.29 milion inhabitans, 89% Roman Catholic Croats (census 2011)

Capital: Zagreb

Islands: 1 244 (78 islands, 524 islets, 624 cliffs and reefs)

National Parks: 8 – Brijuni, Kornati, Krka, Mljet, Paklenica, Plitvice Lakes, Risnjak, Northern Velebit

Nature Parks: 11 - Biokovo, Kopacki Rit, Lastovo islands, Lonjsko polje, Medvednica, Papuk, Telascica,               Ucka, Velebit, Vransko lake, Zumberak

UNESCO cultural sites: Historical Complex of Split with the Palace of Diocletian since 1979, Dubrovnik Old Town since 1979, Episcopal Complex of the Euphrasian Basilica in Porec since 1997, Trogir historical core since 1997, the Cathedral of St James in Sibenik since 2000, Stari Grad Plain since 2008

UNESCO natural site: National Park Plitvice Lakes since 1979

Borders to: Slovenia, Hungary, Serbia, Bosnia and Hercegovina, Montenegro and Italy